Getting Organised – Checklist 10th Jan – 16th Jan

34ab3-imdoingit

This is my blog post for the checklist of the second week (10th Jan 2016 – 16th Jan) of FINALLY Get Organised by Dear Mytrle. 

1. First, back up your data.

Last year, one of my external hard drives stopped working. This did not have any of my genealogy data on, however over the past few years when I’ve been changing my computers I’ve been backing up to that hard drive before the upgrade happened (just incase).  So realising I lost years of information and wasn’t 1005 sure what exactly was on it, I decided to use a cloud storage.  Lisa Louise Cooke was advertising about Back Blaze at this time.  I looked into it and thought I’d give it a try.  I’ve used it since then, love the fact that it copies your hard drive’s and then you can have a look at it (and retrieve documentation) from your tablet, phone and laptop.

2. Decide on a genealogy management program

I brought Family Tree Maker last year, mainly for the sync to ancestry.co.uk. When I heard that Ancestry were no longer supporting it, I decided to have a look at other genealogy software’s.  I found Legacy and have been using it for about a month, and absolutely love the software. I am currently transferring all my data to Legacy.

3. Check the data inputted for myself and that of the three older generations of the Hill surname in Legacy.

I have mainly done this with 2 of the generations (myself and my parents), as I am currently researching my grandparents (3rd generation).

4. Set aside a 3-ring binder for my Hill surname and label oversize tabs as 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th generation.

I am generally using digital to store my data.  However, as advised by DEAR Myrtle, it would be nice to have a binder with the information in so I can show people the binder my findings when I either go home for a bit or if they come and see me.

5. Print out family group sheets starting with myself and place them behind the oversize tabbed 3-ring dividers.

I have done this slightly different to Dear Myrtle. I am currently doing it like this:

1st generation – Myself (all documentation related to me will be here)

2nd generation – My dad (all documentation related to my dad will be here)

3rd generation – My grand father (all documentation related to my grand father will be here)

4th generation – My great grand father (all documentation related to my great grand father will be here).

6. Scan, file and print, to each of these four generations of the Hill surname and add to the relevant computer folder / behind the oversized tab.

I have created folders on my computer that complement my binder, therefore if anyone was to look at my computer or the binder it would be the same format.  If I had a paper copy I scanned it into my computer and stored it in the correct folder.  If I have documentation within my computer/ancestry, I printed it out to put in my binder.  This way my binder stores everything that was on my computer and vice versa.

7. Create an introduction for binder and digital files.

I have done the introduction for binder and digital files.  I have put my name, date and the version number on it.  I decided to add a table of the different versions so I can advise what the difference for people who view the introduction.

8. Add a “genealogy codicil” to your will by making an appointment with your attorney.

I have not done this one, as I’ve only been doing genealogy for a year and a few months. My tree is not that big at the moment, and most of the documentation I have either belongs to my parents or my boyfriend’s family. Therefore I have left this for now, however will review regularly to see if it is required.

Feeling like I have a good system going so far.

Ready for the next one!

Steep.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

